GOP-Led State Checkmates COVID Tyrants

Another win for people of Florida thanks to their dynamite Governor Ron DeSantis.

Democrats and their cabal of “scientists” and “health experts” continue to handcuff the American people with endless authoritarian laws and mandates restricting travel and forcing experimental medical treatment.

Thankfully there are brave Republican politicians fighting back.

Beginning on September 16 the state of Florida will start issuing a $5,000 fine to businesses, schools, and even government agencies that require people to show proof of having a coronavirus vaccine.

“Promises made, promises kept,” DeSantis spokesperson Taryn Fenske said this week.

The fines, however, will not apply to cruise lines because of a federal court order that at least temporarily blocked enforcement of the law for that industry, according to an earlier statement from the governor’s office. DeSantis is appealing that decision.

“We believe the ruling will be overturned upon appeal, and we are confident in the legal basis for Florida’s vaccine passport ban,” press secretary Christina Pushaw said earlier this month.

Agriculture Commissioner Nikki Fried, the state’s only statewide elected Democrat and a candidate hoping to challenge DeSantis for governor next year, was critical of the fines. Go figure.

Fried said in an emailed statement to the newspaper:

Governor DeSantis is retaliating against Floridians who are trying to protect themselves and their communities from COVID-19. This not only goes against common sense — it’s also an insult to the free market principles that he claims to champion.

WRONG

Governor DeSantis is respecting the right to choose whichever medical treatment works best for you. If you want to get the vaccine, then get it. If you want to wear a mask, then wear it. DeSantis is not outlawing the measures used to stop the spread of COVID-19, he’s granting Floridians with the freedom to operate their lives how they see fit.

Violators will get a notice of their infraction and will be allowed to appeal it. If the appeal fails, violators will have 30 days to pay the fine.

Author: Sebastian Hayworth